Billionaire businessman, Rabiu Abdulsamad rejects APC appointment


Chairman of BUA Group, Abdulsamad Rabiu has rejected his nomination to serve as a member of the finance committee set up by the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).

Rabiu declined the offer in a statement by his company on Friday.

It said the billionaire industrialist prefers to be apolitical.

Rabiu, a close ally of President Bola Tinubu, was nominated by the party to serve as a member of a finance committee constituted on Thursday.

He was nominated into the 34-member committee alongside some businessmen and top party members.

Other committees were also constituted by the National Working Committee (NWC) of the party after its meeting at the national secretariat in Abuja.

According to the statement by the BUA Group, the ruling party did not consult Mr Rabiu before including his name in the list.

“It is important to note that our Chairman, Abdul Samad Rabiu and BUA Group have consistently adopted an apolitical stance over the years. This approach is integral to the nature of our business and aligns with Mr. Rabiu’s focus on fostering economic growth through BUA Group’s initiatives and philanthropic efforts through ASR Africa.

“With respect to this, we wish to inform the publishers, our partners, stakeholders, and the general public that Mr. Rabiu has decided to graciously decline the nomination/appointment. This decision is made in light of the fact that he was not previously consulted regarding his inclusion in the list and his inability to commit time due to his demanding schedule,” it said.

The company reiterated that Rabiu would not like to get any political affiliations or roles.

Meanwhile, the national secretariat of APC had pasted the list of the committee members on one of its WhatsApp platforms on Thursday but deleted the post some hours after.

On Friday, the party posted the same list and included the name of Mr Rabiu despite a statement earlier declining the offer.

According to the list, the finance committee will be chaired by Uguru Ofoke while Bashir Gumel will serve as the secretary.

Other notable members include the Senate President, Godswill Akpabio; the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Abbas Tajudeen; Minister of Finance, Coordinating Minister of the Economy, Wale Edun and oil magnate, A.A. Rano.

A businessman, Mohammed Indimi; Kunle Soname; Tein Jack Rich are also members.