4.6million PVCs collected for Saturday by-elections — INEC


No fewer than 4,613,197 Permanent Voters’ Cards have been collected by voters for the February 3 rerun/by-elections.

This was revealed in a document released by INEC on its X account.

Findings showed that 2,189,171 PVCs were collected by voters for the by-elections while 2,424,026 PVCs were collected for the rerun elections.

For the elections, 8,500 Bimodal Voters Authentication Systems and approximately 35,000 ad hoc staff would be deployed.

According to the commission, 74 domestic observers and one international observer will observe the February 3 elections.

By-elections will be conducted in two senatorial districts; (Ebonyi South, Ebonyi State and Yobe East, Yobe State); three state constituencies, (Chibok State Constituency, Borno State; Chikun State constituency, Kaduna State; and Guma State Constituency, Benue State); and four federal constituencies, (Akoko North East/Akoko North-West Federal Constituency, Ondo State; Jalingo/Yorro/Zing Federal Constituency, Taraba State; Surulere 1 Federal Constituency, Lagos State; and Yauri/Shanga/Ngaski Federal Constituency, Kebbi State.)

The court-ordered rerun elections will be held in one Senatorial district of Plateau Central, and 13 federal constituencies.

The Federal constituencies include Surulere 1 (Lagos), Gauri/Shanta/Ingaski and Arewa/Dandi (Kebbi), Akoko North East/North West (Ondo), Jalingo/Yorro/Zing (Taraba), Ikono/Ini (Akwa Ibom); Akamkpa/Biase (Cross River State); and Yabo/Shagari Federal Constituency of (Sokoto State).

Others are Nnewi North/Nnewi South and Orumba North/Orumba South (Anambra), Igbo Eze North/Udenu (Enugu), Birnin Kudu/Buji (Jigawa), Igabi and Kachia/Kagarko (Kaduna), Faskari/Kankara/Sabuwa (Katsina), Jos North/Bases (Plateau) and Fine/Fune (Yobe).

Rerun elections would be held in the following state constituencies, (Adamawa, Akwa Ibom, Bauchi, Bayelsa, Cross River, Delta, Enugu, Kaduna, Kano, Nasarawa, Niger, Oyo, Sokoto, and Zamfara.)