Court of appeal president constitutes tribunal for Surulere 1, federal constituency bye-election


The President of the Court of Appeal, Justice Monica Dongban-Mensem, has established the National and State Houses of Assembly Election Petition Tribunal. Its purpose is to adjudicate on and resolve any petitions arising from the Surulere 1 Federal Constituency Bye-Election conducted in 2024.

The election has been slated for February 3, 2024.

The Surulere Federal Constituency I seat became available following the resignation of its previous occupant, Femi Gbajabiamila. After securing victory, he was appointed as the Chief of Staff by President Bola Tinubu.

A public notification issued by Ibrahim Mahmud Usman, the Secretary of the By-Election Tribunal, highlights that the tribunal was formed in accordance with the authority vested in the President of the Court of Appeal by the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999 (as amended) and the Electoral Act, 2022.

The statement also revealed that “the Chief Judge of Lagos State, Hon. Justice Kazeem Alogba has granted the use of the Rosaline Omotosho Court House, Ikeja, Lagos State for the use of the Tribunal”.

“For any enquiry, the Public is hereby advised to contact the Registry/Secretariat of the Tribunal at the above-mentioned address”.