Gov Uzodimma heads panel to conduct Edo APC gov primary


The All Progressives Congress (APC) has appointed Imo State Governor, Hope Uzodimma, as the chairman of a seven-member committee tasked with overseeing the primary election scheduled for February 17 to select the party’s gubernatorial candidate in Edo State.

This information was revealed in a statement released in Abuja by the APC National Organising Secretary, Sulaiman Argungu, on Wednesday.

Argungu further mentioned that Uzodimma will be supported by the Governor of Cross River State, Bassey Otu, who has been appointed as Deputy Chairman.

He said, “Other members of the Primary Election Committee include former Osun State deputy governor, Mrs Titilayo Laoye-Tomori; APC’s flagbearer in the Plateau State 2023 governorship election, Nentanwe Yilwatde Goshwe; Umar Musa; Lawan Garba and Rabiu Suleiman who will serve as the Secretary.”

The ruling party declared that it has established an appeal committee, chaired by C.C. Udenwa and headed by Yunusa Mohammed, for the governorship primary election.

“Other members include Muhammad Zakaria Sarina; Udogu Anthony Chijoke and Muhammad Garin Ali. The nominated members of Edo State National Gubernatorial Primary Election Committee and Election Appeal Committee will be inaugurated on Thursday, 15th of February, 2024 at the party’s National Working Committee Hall by 4 pm prompt,” the statement added.

The announcement follows four days after the leadership of the APC granted clearance to all 12 aspirants vying for the party’s singular ticket in the forthcoming September 22 Edo governorship election.

The cleared aspirants include the former State Chairman of APC, Gideon Ikhine; former Minister of State for National Economic Planning, Clem Agba; former Edo Governor, Prof Oserheimen Osunbor; Edo Central Senator, Monday Okpebholo; former deputy governor, Lucky Imasuen; former governorship candidate, Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu; and Etsako Federal Constituency lawmaker, Anamero Dekeri.

Others include former Zonal Organising Secretary for South-South, Blessing Agbohmere; House of Representatives member, Dennis Idahosa; former permanent secretary in the Ministry of Agriculture and Food Security, Ernest Afolabi Umakhihe; Col. David Imuse; and Major General Charles Airhiavbere (retd).