Buhari’s former ministers; Adeosun, Fayemi, Alhassan still listed as cabinet members on state house website


Routine checks by Newsclickng.com on Tuesday on the website of the Federal Government of Nigeria (state house) http://statehouse.gov.ng/people/ showed that former Minister of Finance, Mrs. Kemi Adeosun, former Minister of Women Affairs, Aisha Alhassan and former minister of Mines and Steel, Kayode Fayemi (now Governor of Ekiti State) are all still cabinet members of the President Muhammadu Buhari’s administration despite tendering their respective resignation letters some few months ago.

Recall that the former Minister of Finance, Adeosun resigned her appointment as finance minister on September 14, 2018; when it became public that she presented a forged National Youth Service Corps exemption certificate upon which she was appointed into public office.

Following her resignation, she fled the country the following day to London, the United Kingdom through a British Airways aircraft.

The British Airways aircraft that she flew to London according to sources at the airport left the Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport at exactly 8:05 am on September 15.

She was the last passenger that boarded the flight before it departed the shores of Nigeria.

Her name is still listed just immediately after the Minister of Federal Capital Territory, Mohammed Bello, and before the Minister of Foreign Affairs, Geoffrey Onyeama.

Apart from Adeosun, the immediate past Minister of Solid Minerals Development, Dr Kayode Fayemi,  is still listed as a cabinet member.

Fayemi, who is now the Governor of Ekiti State, resigned as minister on May 30, this year to enable him to contest for the governorship position which he eventually won and has since been sworn in.

Also, the immediate past Minister of Women Affairs and Social Development, Aisha Alhassan, is still listed as a cabinet member about a month after her resignation.

Alhassan had resigned her appointment as a minister of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as well as her membership of the governing All Progressives Congress.

She left President Muhammadu Buhari’s cabinet and the APC after she was screened out of the APC governorship primary by the Adams Oshiomhole-led National Working Committee of the APC ahead of the contest.

She tried unsuccessfully to become the standard bearer of the APC for the 2019 Taraba State governorship election.