JUST IN: INEC suspends rerun elections in Enugu, Kano, Akwa Ibom constituencies


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has postponed the ongoing rerun polls in particular seats in Enugu, Kano, and Akwa Ibom states due to disturbances, anomalies, and the kidnapping of election personnel.

The impacted areas include Enugu South 1 State Constituency in Enugu State, Ikono/Ini Federal Constituency in Akwa Ibom State, and Kunchi/Tsanyawa State Constituency in Kano State.

On Saturday, the electoral authority issued a statement signed by Sam Olumekun, National Commissioner and Chairman of the Information and Voter Education Committee.

The judgement came after INEC had stated that it was monitoring incidences of thuggery and hijacking of voting materials in the states.

According to INEC, elections were suspended in all eight Polling Units where the original results sheets were not available for inspection by voters before the commencement of polls in Enugu South 1 Constituency.

Similarly in Akwa Ibom State, INEC noted that elections were suspended in two Polling Units (Village Hall, EdemUrua 003 in Ini LGA and Village Hall Mbiabong Ikot Udo 003 in Ikono LGA) where all election materials were carted away by hoodlums.

For Kunchi/Tsanyawa State Constituency in Kano State, INEC said elections were suspended in all ten Polling Units in Kunchi LGA due to invasion, vandalization, and disruption by thugs.

The electoral umpire said its decision aligns with the provisions of Section 24(3) of the Electoral Act, 2022.

It stated that further necessary measures for the affected constituencies will be announced after the Commission’s meeting on Monday.

INEC invited the security agencies to investigate the incidents, while the Commission commits to thoroughly interrogating any breaches involving its officials.

Channels Television reported that INEC is conducting bye and re-run elections in 80 Local Government Areas (LGAs) across 26 states of the federation.

The elections are being conducted to fill vacancies in not less than three senatorial districts, 17 federal and 28 state constituencies spread across 80 local government areas, 575 registration areas/wards and 8,934 polling units involving 4,904,627 registered voters, out of which 4,613,291 PVCs have been collected.