Nigeria, Rohr, Oshoala among top three for Aiteo/CAF awards


Nigeria however got four places in the nominations, with Super Eagles Technical Adviser Gernot Rohr and Super Falcons star forward Asisat Oshoala being among those for the individual awards.

While Rohr got the nomination for the Coach of the Year Award, Oshoala was among the top three in the Woman Player of the Year Award.

Nigeria was also nominated for the Male Team of the Year Award, while the country’s women’s under-20 team was also nominated for the Women’s Team of the Year Award.

The ceremony was attended by CAF President Ahmad, CAF First Vice President Kwesi Nyantakyi, CAF Executive Committee member Amaju Pinnick, with Ghana’s Minister of Youth and Sports, Isaac Asiamah, the Guest-of-Honour.

Also present were sponsors Aiteo, represented by Senior Vice President, Commercial and Gas, Victor Okoronkwo.

The sponsors’ representative expressed his outfit’s pride in partnership of the event that celebrates the various stakeholders of African football.

The shortlists for the topmost award, African Player of the Year, were unveiled by ex-Ghana defender, Sammy Kuffour.

The Awards Gala will take place on Jan. 4 in Accra.

Below are the top three (Nominees are listed in alphabetical order):

African Player of the Year  —-

  • Mohamed Salah (Egypt and Liverpool)
  • Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon and Borussia Dortmund)
  • Sadio Mane (Senegal and Liverpool)

Women’s Player of the Year —-

  • Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria and Dalian Quanjian)
  • Chrestina Kgatlana (South Africa and UWC Ladies)
  • Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene (Cameroon and CSKA Moscow)

Youth Player of the Year  —-

  • Krepin Diatta (Senegal and Sarpsborg)
  • Patson Daka (Zambia and Liefering)
  • Salam Giddou (Mali and Guidars)

Coach of the Year  —-

  • Gernot Rohr (Nigeria)
  • Hector Cuper (Egypt)
  • L’Hussein Amoutta (Wydad Athletic Club)

Club of the Year  —-

  • Al Ahly
  • TP Mazembe
  • Wydad Athletic Club

National Team of the Year  —-

  • Cameroon
  • Egypt
  • Nigeria

Women’s National Team of the Year  —-

  • Ghana U-20
  • Nigeria U-20
  • South Africa